Protection by PrEP

Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis

PrEP stands for pre-exposure prophylaxis and, in addition to the condom and protection through therapy, it offers effective protection against HIV infection when used correctly.

What is PrEP

  • PrEP is the regular intake of a drug used in HIV therapy.
  • Currently approved are
  • Truvada® from Gilead
    and some generic medications:
  • Emtricitabine/Tenofovirisoproxil Ratiopharm;
  • Emtricitabine/Tenofovirdisoproxil Hexal (TDF) from Hexal and
  • Emenovo® from TAD;
  • PrEP only protects against HIV, not other STIs.
  • A medical professional must regularly check the kidney values as well as test for HIV and other STIs.

What do I have to consider before deciding to take PrEP?

Before you make a decision to take PrEP to prevent HIV infection, you should have a consultation. Here you can clarify whether this method is the right one for you and which requirements you have to fulfill in order for it to work as well as finding out your tolerance. Here you can find counselling centers in Berlin that offer information.

In addition, a medical checkup must be carried out. Here, you can find out whether your body can tolerate PrEP, whether you may already be HIV-infected, or whether there are other sexually transmitted infections that need to be treated. You can have some of these examinations done in these counselling centers or, among others, at these doctors.

If it turns out that PrEP is the right method for you to protect yourself from HIV and your checkup is in order, you can have the medication prescribed by your doctor.

Information about PrEP and the most important answers to your questions can be found here. If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Where can I get PrEP

  • Currently, Emtricitabine/Tenofovirdisoproxil Hexal is available through certain pharmacies in Berlin and six other German cities for a price of about €50 per month. To get it, you need a prescription from the doctor. In these pharmacies you can get the “€50 PrEP”.
  • Another possibility is to buy the original medication Truvada® for approximately €860 per month in the pharmacy on presentation of a prescription.
  • At the beginning of December 2017, Ratiopharm drastically reduced the price of its generic drug, which is now around €70 per month. In theory, the generic is available nationwide in all pharmacies, as it is different from the “€50 PrEP”, and independent of discount agreements.
  • Some PrEP users are already taking a different approach – they have their friends in the U.K. order cheap generic drugs with the same active ingredients from trustworthy suppliers abroad for around €60 per month instead of over €800. Generally, this is the generic drug Tenvir-EM (Tenofovirdisoproxil/Emtricitabine) from the Indian manufacturer Cipla (Fig. 2). In the U.K., it is possible to legally have up to three monthly packs (therefore a total of 90 tablets) sent home in this way – this is not permitted in Germany. However, from one EU country to another, three monthly rations of PrEP tablets are allowed to be transported for personal use. As long as there is no hard Brexit, this import route remains open.
  • Self-imported generic medication has been reviewed by a working group from Imperial College London, and the results were presented by Nnenka Nwokolo at the HIV Drug Therapy Congress in Glasgow in October 2016.
  • The distribution channel is clearly arranged. Almost all of them order via the website “IwantPrEPnow“. There they receive information about PrEP and are forwarded to pre-selected dealers.
  • The Tenofovir and Emtricitabine concentrations measured in the blood of the PrEP generics users corresponded in all cases to the values expected from the original version of the medication.
  • So, the use of these generics is considered safe. (Source: HIV-Report 05/2016, Deutsche Aids-Hilfe e.V.)

PrEP, condoms and protection through therapy reliably protect you from HIV and can be combined with each other.
Choose what suits you best. More information here.

Are you wondering if PrEP is right for you? Inform yourself here in detail and let us help you make the right decision for you.

Infection with HIV is unlikely to occur via oral sex. Even if someone cums in your mouth, the risk remains very low. Injuries to the mucous membrane from deep throating or nasally consumed drugs increase the risk of infection. Other sexually transmitted infections (STIs), such as gonorrhea, chlamydia and hepatitis A and B can be transmitted during oral sex. If that happens, you can get easily treated by a doctor. Remember that some infections can be symptom-free.

Have yourself tested several times a year for HIV, hepatitis C and other sexually transmitted infections (STIs). Swabs of your dick, your ass and of your throat give you’re the security to find anything that doesn’t belong there. You can be vaccinated against hepatitis A and B.

Beratungsangebote

STI

Beratung zu HIV & AIDS

Beratung zu HIV & AIDS


Du suchst Hilfe zu den Themen HIV & Aids? Hier findest du Hilfe in Berlin.
Hepatitis A Viren

STI


Informationen zu sexuell übertragbaren Infektionen (STI) und wie man sich davor schützt.

Schutz durch PrEP

Prä-Expositions-Prophylaxe

 

PrEP steht für Prä-Expostions-Prophylaxe und ist, neben dem Kondom und dem Schutz durch Therapie, bei richtiger Anwendung, ein wirksamer Schutz vor einer HIV-Infektion.

Was ist PrEP

  • Die PrEP ist die regelmäßige Einnahme von einem in der HIV-Therapie eingesetztem Medikament
  • aktuell zugelassen sind
    • Truvada ® von Gilead
    • und einige Generkika (Nachahmerpräparate):
    • Emtricitabin/Tenofovirdisoproxil Hexal (TDF) von Hexal und
    • Emtenovo® von TAD;
  • Die PrEP schützt ausschließlich vor HIV, nicht vor anderen STI.
  • Durch einen Arzt müssen regelmäßig die Nierenwerte überprüft und auf HIV und andere STI getestet werden.

Was muss ich beachten, bevor ich mich für eine PrEP entscheide

Bevor du eine Entscheidung triffst, eine PrEP zur Vermeidung einer HIV Infektion einzunehmen, solltest du ein Beratungsgespräch führen. Hier kannst du klären, ob diese Methode die richtige für dich ist und welche Voraussetzungen du erfüllen musst, damit sie wirkt und du sie verträgst. Hier findest du eine Beratungsstelle in Berlin, die dir weiter hilft.

Weiterhin müssen einige medizinische Untersuchungen erfolgen. Gechecked wird hier, ob dein Körper die PrEP verträgt, ob du vielleicht schon HIV-infiziert bist, oder ob andere sexuell übertragbare Infektionen vorliegen, die behandelt werden müssen. Einige dieser Untersuchungen kannst du in diesen Beratungsstellen, oder unter anderem bei diesen Ärzten machen lassen.

Sollte sich herausstellen, dass die PrEP für dich die passende Methode zum Schutz vor HIV ist und alle Untersuchungen in diesem Sinne positiv verlaufen sein, kannst du sie dir vom Arzt verschreiben lassen.

Alle wichtigen Informationen zu PrEP und die wichtigsten Antworten auf deine Fragen findest du hier. Wenn du weitere Fragen hast, kontaktiere uns gerne.

Wo bekomme ich PrEP

  • Derzeit gibt es Emtricitabin/Tenofovirdisoproxil Hexal über bestimmte Apotheken in Berlin und sechs anderen deutschen Städten für einen Preis von ca. 50€/Monat. Um es zu bekommen, benötigt man ein Rezept vom Arzt. In diesen Apotheken bekommst du die „50€-PrEP“.
  • Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist, sich das original Präparat Truvada ® für ca 860€/Monat in der Apotheke gegen Vorlage eines Rezeptes zu kaufen.
  • . „Einige PrEP-Nutzer_innen gehen schon jetzt einen anderen Weg: Sie lassen sich von Freund_innen in England günstige Generika mit denselben Wirkstoffen über vertrauenswürdige Anbieter aus dem Ausland bestellen – für rund 60 € pro Monatsration statt für über 800 €. Meist handelt es sich um das Generikum Tenvir-EM (Tenofovirdisoproxil/ Emtricitabine) des indischen Herstellers Cipla (Abb. 2). In England ist es möglich, sich auf diesem Weg legal bis zu drei Monatspackungen (also insgesamt 90 Tabletten) nach Hause schicken zu lassen – in Deutschland ist das nicht erlaubt. Man darf aber von einem EULand zum anderen drei Monatsrationen PrEP-Tabletten für den persönlichen Bedarf
    nach Deutschland transportieren. Solange es keinen harten Brexit gibt, ist dieser Importweg offen.
  • Die selbst importierten Generika wurden von einer Arbeitsgruppe vom Imperial College London überprüft, die Ergebnisse von Nnenka Nwokolo auf dem HIV Drug Therapy Congress in Glasgow im Oktober 2016 vorgestellt.
    • Der Vertriebsweg ist übersichtlich. Fast alle bestellen über die Webseite „IwantPrEPnow“ […]. Dort erhalten sie Informationen zur PrEP und werden an vorausgewählte Händler weiter geleitet.
    • Die im Blut der PrEP-Generika-Nutzer_innen gemessenen Tenofovirund Emtricitabin-Konzentrationen entsprachen in allen Fällen den auch vom Original-Präparat erwarteten Werten.
    Der Einsatz dieser Generika war also sicher.“ (Quelle: HIV-Report 05/2016, Deutsche Aids-Hilfe e.V.)
  • PrEP, Kondome und Schutz durch Therapie schützen Dich zuverlässig vor HIV und sind untereinander kombinierbar.

Wähle, was am besten zu Dir passt. Weitere Infos hier.

Du überlegst, ob die PrEP das Richtige ist? Informier Dich hier ausführlich und lass Dich beraten.

Beim Blasen ist eine Ansteckung mit HIV unwahrscheinlich. Selbst wenn jemand in deinem Mund abspritzt ist das Risiko sehr gering. Verletzungen der Schleimhaut durch tiefes Blasen (Deepthroat) oder nasal konsumierte Drogen erhöhen das Risiko einer Infektion. Andere sexuell übertragbaren Infektionen (STI), wie Tripper, Chlamydien und Hepatitis A und B können durch Blasen übertragen werden. Wenn es dazu kommt, kannst du dich beim Arzt behandeln lassen. Denke daran, dass manche Infektionen symptomfrei verlaufen können.

Lass dich mehrmals pro Jahr auf HIV, Hep C und andere sexuell übertragbare Infektionen (STI) testen. Abstriche am Schwanz im Arsch und im Rachen geben Sicherheit, alles zu finden, was nicht dort hingehört. Gegen Hepatitis A und B sind Impfungen möglich.

 

Beratungsangebote

STI

Beratung zu HIV & AIDS

Beratung zu HIV & AIDS


Du suchst Hilfe zu den Themen HIV & Aids? Hier findest du Hilfe in Berlin.
Hepatitis A Viren

STI


Informationen zu sexuell übertragbaren Infektionen (STI) und wie man sich davor schützt.